Exhibition Drawing Exhibition The Thinking Hand

The Thinking Hand is an annual scholarship competition for young draftsmen. See this year's nominees and their artwork in the digital gallery here at the web site. The exhibition is on view 20 April to 20 June 2024.

HM THE KING'S SCHOLARSHIP COMPETITION is open to young draftsmen working with visual interpretation within art, architecture, fashion, design, illustration, game development and other related fields. The participants are nominated by a selection committee from the Royal Academy. The scholarship competition and exhibition is a collaboration between the Royal Court and the Royal Academy of Fine Arts.

Click on each nominee's name or artwork below to enter the artist page and see all their contributions to the scholarship competition and exhibition!

THE NOMINEES 2024 are Ellen Macke Alström, Olivia Pettersson Fleur, David Klasson, Carl-Oskar Jonsson, Rakel Bergman Fröberg, Olle Witt, Axel Versteegh, Annie Holm, Iside Wilson Vettori and Bessie Proos, each participating with several artworks.

A JURY appoints three of the nominees to the scholarships, each receiving SEK 100,000. The jury consist of HRH Prince Carl Philip, Elisabeth Alsheimer Evenstedt, Permanent secretary at the the Royal Academy, artist Ernst Billgren, architect Louise Masreliez and artist John Stenborg. The scholarship recipients will be announced in May.

SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS 2024 are Olivia Pettersson Fleur, Rakel Bergman Fröberg and Olle Witt.

In the Bernadotte Family, each generation has shown a commitment to culture and a desire to support those who work with art. We wish to wish to make special mention of Gustaf VI Adolf, a founding member of the Friends of the National Museum in 1911 and whose many years of support for the National Museum's drawing competition 'Young Draftsmen' has been a source of inspiration for the drawing competition 'The Thinking Hand'. Using his position to bring attention to, aid and support young artists was a matter of course for the former king, as it is for our current King and his son Prince Carl Philip, who has served on the jury for the scholarship competition since its inception in 2017.